"Dream, Dream, Dream! Conduct these dreams into thoughts and then transform them into action."
- Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam


21-08-2017 05:00 AM | Pooja Nevewani | My Indian Dream

PanchMahaBhutas | My Indian Dream

Image Source

Do you know the representation of the elements of nature in our Aarti thali?

PanchMahaBhutas are the basic five elements of nature which are believed to be the building blocks of the universe. These have immense importance in Indian culture and all rituals and customs have their mention in the prayers. Right from ancient time, people have tried to include the importance of these elements in our everyday life. The main factor about these elements is their permanence Let’s get to know about each one of them and their significance in our culture.

Prithvi: Earth

In Hindu culture, Earth is divided into two groups. Nitya- the one which we can see and are perishable and Anitya- the one which we can’t see and are imperishable. Anything that is solid, tangible, has density, shape and much more.

Jal: Water

This is the second element of nature. It represents fluidity, the change of form. Water evaporates and comes down back in the form of rains. Small lakes merge into bigger oceans. It shows the cycle of nature of evaporation and condensation. It also signifies smoothness, agility, and coolness.

Vayu: Air

This is the third element. It too can be represented in perishable and non-perishable part. Air represents force, power, movement, and vibrations. In Hindu Puranas, there are about forty-nine types of winds. Some of these are pravaha, avaha, udhava, samavaha and vivaha. Udhava is the wind that has the ability to take water from the ocean.  

Akash: Sky

This is the next element in the list. This is the only element that is completely nonperishable. It represents energy and we all know energy can never be destroyed. These are carriers of sound. It is said that only those with deep yogic powers have the power to listen to the sound of Akash. It links living souls to the ultimate supreme power. Akash represents boundlessness and non-resistance.

 Agni: Fire

Agni represents heat and warmth. It has both perishable and nonperishable. Just like Vayu it also has different types like the fire earth, the fire of the sky and so on. It is one of the guardians of the universe that protects it. It occupies the south east position in the universe. It also symbolizes light, radiance, and brightness.  

The PanchMahaBhutas on a Platter

Acknowledging the significance of these elements, our ancestors have skillfully included them in our prayers. The aarti thali has all of these elements present. The diya represents fire and the Chandan represents earth. The fragrance coming out of the incense sticks represents air. Water is represented by the sacred Ganges water. Ether of the lamp represents the sky. When we offer Aarti to Lord, we offer the universe to him. Also, when someone is setting out on a mission or is felicitated, the Aarti wishes the universe to be with her/him.

About the Author


A bibliophile who likes to gain and share knowledge.
Support the Initiative

Buy the My Indian Dream merchandise to support our various initiatives. The premium merchandise enables you to make a statement in style as well as enable our efforts.